Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Knights of Columbus?

The Knights of Columbus is the world's largest Catholic fraternal service organization. Founded in the United States in 1882, it is named in honor of Christopher Columbus and dedicated to the principles of Charity, Unity, Fraternity and Patriotism. There are more than 1.7 million members in 14,000 councils.

What are the different degrees of Knighthood?

As a member there are four different degrees of being a Knight dedicated to the principles of Charity, Unity, Fraternity and Patriotism.

Is the Knights of Columbus an official part of the Catholic Church?

No. It is an independent, non-canonical organization that nonetheless is completely supportive of the Church at the parish, diocesan, national and international levels. Many thousands of priests and bishops are members. We have always regarded ourselves as the “strong right arm of the Church,” and a major part of the Order‘s work is devoted to supporting our parish priests, bishops, and the Pope in a wide variety of ways. Last year, we provided more than $17.6 million for church-related grants and programs, including $2.3 million for vocations support. Each year, the Order presents the Pope with earnings from our Vicarius Christi Fund for his personal charities. Last year, the earnings totaled $1.6 million.

Contact Council 15234

Council 15234

In service to ONE.
In service to all.


Holy Family
Knights of Columbus Council 15234
9100 Crockett Road
Brentwood, TN 37027



(615) 373-4696

FAQ Didn't Solve Your Problem?

Get Direct Access to the Council 15234 Via Phone or Email

Contact Us